Call Toll Free: 1-877-899-7587Call Toll Free: 1-877-899-7587Outside of U.S.: 1-937-847-0614Outside of U.S.: 1-937-847-0614

Blog Contact Us

Group Maintenance

  • Date: Nov 02, 2015

Group Maintenance

The Request Status screen may use destination groups to refine its data. For example, with anything more than thirty destinations defined, it can be difficult to find a particular printer in the list. Printers can be grouped by type of printer (color, directory, or laser), location (southeast or northwest), or floor and a printer can be assigned to more than one group. To access this component, from the OM Plus Control Panel, double-click Group Maintenance, and then the following Group Maintenance screen appears.
OM Plus DM Group Maintenance

Adding a Group

Add a group to narrow the search for a printer in the Request Status screen. A group can be defined based on type of printer, location, or floor and it is possible to assign a printer to more than one group.

To add a group, complete these steps:

1. Select a host, and then click Add Group.

2. In the Enter New Group Name field, enter a new group name, and then click OK.

The group appears in the list.

Deleting a Group

A group can be deleted when it is no longer needed. For example, if groups were defined by floor, and there were no longer printers on a particular floor, the group for that floor could be deleted.

To delete a group, complete these steps:

1. Select a group, and then click Delete Group.

A message appears to confirm the deletion of the group and its contents.

2. Click Yes.

The group no longer appears in the list.

Adding Destinations to Groups

Destinations are added to an existing group to narrow the search for a particular printer. For example, new color printers could be added to the Group “Color.” A printer can be assigned to more than one group.

To add a destination to a group, complete these steps:

1. Select a group, and then click Add Member.

The Select Additional Group Members screen appears.

Select Additional Group Member

2. Select the destination to add, and then click OK.

The destination appears in the list under the group.

Deleting Destinations from Groups

Destinations can be deleted from a group when the printer is retired, or when it is longer needed to appear on the Request Status screen in a particular group. To do this, select the group destination to delete, and then click Delete Member. The destination no longer appears in the list.

Automating document management and business processes